Welcome! Get to know Bolivia and its diversity

Alejandra Campos

Bolivia is a diverse country full of natural treasures and incredible landscapes, among other characteristics that make this country a special and unique place. Bolivia is in the heart of South America - bordering Peru, Argentina, Paraguay, Brazil and Chile - and has nine departments. This 6th of August, Bolivia is celebrating another year of independence, which was declared on this date in 1825.

La Paz is a department located in the west of Bolivia, where you will be able to find beautiful snowy mountains; very interesting places like: Tiwanaku, whose ruins show part of Bolivia’s history; and you can also visit the highest navigable lake in the world, located in the Altiplano region, ‘Lake Titicaca.’ Now, if you prefer warm weather, you can visit the Yungas region and its famous ‘Death Road’, or Madidi National Park, located in the north bordering the department of Beni. The city of La Paz is the seat of government, for this reason, Bolivia’s political power is concentrated here.

Oruro is located in the west of the country in the Bolivian Altiplano. Carnival here marks the most popular time for domestic and international tourists to visit, since it displays traditional dances and is one of the most important attractions that depicts the culture and history of the country. Another tourist destination is Sajama National Park, which offers beautiful landscapes.

Potosí, also located in the south east of Bolivia, constitutes an important part of not only the country, but of the world. This is due to its mineral wealth, which has heavily contributed to the world and is continuing to be mined. One of the most incredible and popular tourist destinations is the ‘Salar de Uyuni’, the world’s largest salt flat, a place that you can not forget to visit. There’s also Toro Toro National Park, which borders the department of Cochabamba.

Chuquisaca, located in the south-centre of the country, has the city of Sucre as its capital, the constitutional capital of Bolivia. It is characterised by its colonial architecture, the houses are painted in white and it is also an important region for palaeontology since Cretático National Park displays various dinosaur footprints.

Cochabamba is in the centre of the country. It has a pleasant climate and is characterised by offering a variety of traditional dishes, for instance, silpancho, pique macho, chicharron, etc. It has many national parks, such as Tunari, Isiboro Securé and Carraso, which preserve a diversity of flora and fauna.

Tarija, located in the south of Bolivia, has a lot of natural richness, a warm climate and the best wine in the country.


Santa Cruz is a department which is situated in the east of the country and its capital is the most populous city in Bolivia. As well as having strong economic growth, it is the biggest department and it has a warm tropical climate and important ecological reserves, such as the Amboro and the Noel Kempff Mercado National Parks, as well as the Chiquitanía region.

Beni and Pando are in the north of Bolivia and together they make up the Amazonian part of the country. This is because of their tropical climate and vast expanses that preserve a variety of vegetation and species of animals.

These are only some of the features of the nine departments that make up Bolivia, and of course, you are invited to experience all of these in this beautiful and diverse country.

Share this: 
bolivia / La Paz / Oruro / Potosí / Chuquisaca / Tarija / Cochabamba / Beni / Pando / Santa Cruz